Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Scones

This week’s recipe is Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Scones from Baked Elements. I love making scones, they are so easy to put together and usually I have the necessary ingredients on hand. As I got ready to get baking this morning, I read through the recipe and my heart fell when I saw that it called for buttermilk. I had skipped breakfast, intending to feast on the spoils of my labor, and the delay as I ran out to the grocery store was tedious. Note to self, double check the ingredients a day or two before baking day!

When I returned with the buttermilk my husband jokingly asked every few minutes if the scones were ready yet. Luckily though the recipe is very easy and quick to pull together.  In short order I had the dough mixed together and ready for a 20 minute bake.

The scones came out really tasty, and are well worth the wait. You’ll definitely want a glass of milk with these, they are very dense and filling, with lots of peanut butter flavor.

If you are a fan of scones, and pumpkin, I also recommend the Pumpkin Scone recipe from King Arthur Flour. They are especially good with ginger chips mixed in if you can find them, and a bit of a nice powdered sugar glaze.

Baked Sunday Mornings

19 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Scones

  1. Very nice! And thanks for the pumpkin scone link. LOVE pumpkin in scones. I’m not a huge fan of Starbucks coffee, but love their pumpkin scones and have been trying to duplicate those! Haha! Nice work on these scones!

  2. Isn’t that frustrating when you think you’ve got everything you need!!! argh! But great job with the scones. I will have to give that pumpkin scone recipe a try.

  3. Your scones look great, and just a thought… Before I was using buttermilk regularly, I bought a can of Saco powdered buttermilk to keep in the depths of my fridge just in case. Works well! 🙂

  4. Yours look awesome. I was also out of buttermilk and learned that if you combine one tablespoon of lemon juice and then add milk until it reaches 1 cup and let it sit for 5 minutes, you will have buttermilk. I did that for these scones and it worked great.

  5. I could never live in the country, because I’m constantly forgetting ingredients! Trader Joe’s across the street, it’s a lifesaver. Thanks for the link to the pumpkin scones, too!

  6. I also made my own buttermilk with some white vinegar and milk because I never have the forethought to get some at the store. Great job on your scones and thank you for the pumpkin scone link.

  7. Oh, how disappointing! At least it was a fast recipe. Thanks for the pumpkin scone link. I recently made Biscoff scones from the King Arthur site – very delicious.

  8. Delicious looking scones-wish I had one right now for breakfast ;-). Thanks for the link, I like the idea of pumpkin scones- so many good things to bake, just need more time 😉

Leave a Reply

