Pumpkin Almond Cake

This was a recipe I was really excited to try, since I’m down for anything with pumpkin in it  The twist of almond flour and an almond buter frosting made it very intriguing. I love almond butter, but never buy it because it is quite a bit more expensive that peanut butter. This cake was delightfully easy to put together too, since it is a single layer cake. I couldn’t find almond flour, but it was very easy to grind up almonds in my food processor. The only problem that I had was with the amount of milk needed for the frosting. The recipe calls for 2-4 tablespoons, I used 8 or more. The frosting was tasty, but also a bit odd. It has a caramel like stickyness and texture, like no other frosting I’ve ever had. It went well with the cake, though, and the cake itself was delicious. Very cinnamony  and lightly sweet. My husband took it to work for his company Thanksgiving potluck and it was very popular.  Since I was making this for an office party, I made a couple of extra cupcakes so that my husband and I could try a bit of the cake, without delivering a cake with a couple of slices missing. I wasn’t sure what to do to decorate the cake, so I ended up just throwing on some extra nuts. I’m curious to see what everyone else comes up with.   Baked Sunday Mornings

10 thoughts on “Pumpkin Almond Cake

  1. Your cake looks beautiful! It was a really unusual frosting, but so good. I made pumpkin cupcakes for my husband’s office potluck. I should have planned ahead and make this cake. 🙂

  2. Yes, this would be a good cake to take…sturdy, yet moist and yummy…good for traveling. I like your thinner frosting that oozes down the cake sides. Nice idea to make extra tasters.

Leave a Reply

