Chocolate Ginger Molasses Cookies

cookie

This week’s recipe was for Chocolate Ginger Molasses Cookies.  Since starting this blog I have come to the realization that I really don’t like molasses, so I almost skipped this week entirely.   Even the smell of molasses makes me wince, so when I see a recipe that features it I hesitate. With that in mind, I decided to forge ahead with a few changes. I googled “molasses substitutions”  and found that you can just as easily use honey, corn syrup, or maple syrup. So I cut the amount of molasses in half, replacing the rest with honey. The batter seemed a bit dry when it was finished, so I actually added a small amount of water until it seemed to hold together. I also added some chocolate chips to the batter. I left the dough chilling in my fridge for a few days, and decided to roll them out and bake them early Thursday before I had to leave for work. I put the dough in the microwave on defrost for about a minute, and they were very easy to roll out and cut. Since my cookie cutters were a bit smaller than the 4-5 inches called for, I baked for 1 minute less than recommended. Finally,  since I was in a chocolate chocolate chocolate kind of mood (which is pretty much every day), I skipped the called for frosting and simply drizzled a bit of melted chocolate over top. Though I don’t usually do much baking at 7am, I must say that I highly recommend it. I was in a fantastic mood for the rest of the day. It might also have been the chocolate cookie breakfast that had such an wonderful impact on my mood. 
IMG_2137 1

And I LOVED these cookies. The texture is great, very moist, and I highly recommend added chocolate chips or some finely chopped chocolate.  I wish I had upped the amount of ginger, but otherwise I would make these again with my changes. In fact I might make more for Valentine’s day next week.

Cookies.

I took most of the cookies to a “No Boys Allowed” Magic Mike viewing party my friend called Galentine’s Day. Everyone seemed to really like them. And if you don’t know what Magic Mike is, it’s…well, it’s a lot of this-

It made for an excellent girl’s night movie. While I am tempted to leave an in depth review of the plot here, let me just say that if that gif strikes your fancy you will probably enjoy the movie.

Have a great week everybody!

Baked Sunday Mornings

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Ginger Molasses Cookies

  1. Your more chocolaty cookies look wonderful…good ideas for the substitutions. Always nice to make cookies, which you should enjoy, fit your likes. I plan to add more chocolate next time…I like the recipe as is, but I also love chocolate.

Leave a Reply

