Carrot Coconut Scones with Citrus Glaze

I decided to forgo this week’s recipe for Chocolate Peanut Butter fondue. It sounds amazingly delicious, and I am generally up for any sort of sweet treat, but apparently I draw the line at making myself a pot of what amounts to melted peanut butter cups. I think I will save that recipe for the lucky guests of a future party. So instead, I did a make up recipe that everyone raved about when they made it a couple of years ago-Carrot Coconut Scones with Citrus Glaze.SconesThese were amazing. The texture is light and airy, almost like a little cake. The carrot element is not too pronounced, though I did get some pretty flecks of orange from my lazily mashed carrots. I am crazy for coconut, but the real star of this recipe is the citrus glaze. It adds such a wonderful sweet/tart punch, while also keeping them very moist. I love making scones, and I have found that a simple powdered sugar glaze can make a so-so biscuit into a delicious, moist pastry. Especially if allowed to sit overnight to really let the glaze sink in a little bit. I also usually cut my scones into smaller sizes so there’s more to share.

IMG_2212

Have a great week everyone!

Next week:Cheddar Corn Soufflé | Baked Elements.Baked Sunday Mornings

10 thoughts on “Carrot Coconut Scones with Citrus Glaze

  1. Funny we both felt the same way about the fondue. I know my brother would love it, though. I really liked these scones! I’ll have to make them again soon.

  2. These scones are great…I loved them and am appreciative that you’ve reminded me of how good they are…I’ll be baking them again soon…thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

