Triple Rum Black Pepper Cake

This week we made a Triple Rum Black Pepper Cake, and it might be my favorite recipe yet. It was very easy to make, I had all of the ingredients on hand, and man is it delicious. I was a little bit worried about the addition of black pepper, but thought I would give it a try.

CakeHonestly I couldn’t taste it at all, so I might just omit it next time that I make this. And I am definitely planning on making it again. I cut down on the amount of syrup and glaze a little bit, but I feel like it came out really well.  It was also not overwhelmingly sweet, which I enjoyed.

IMG_2343 1I thought the amount of booze was perfect, you could enjoy the rum flavor without any harshness. I can see where this cake could lend itself well to variations using other kinds of booze, like limoncello, coconut, kahlua  whiskey…mmm.

IMG_2344 1IMG_2355

Have a great week everyone!Baked Sunday Mornings

Next week : Chocolate Hazelnut Spread

6 thoughts on “Triple Rum Black Pepper Cake

  1. I also don’t think the pepper is necessary to “make” the cake, but I’m glad I gave it a try this time. Hmmm… other booze options… I like it! 🙂

  2. Lovely looking cake! I found my pepper too strong. Perhaps I should have used pre-ground pepper. I agree about being able to use different flavouring to this cake. Lemoncello would be a nice one I think.

  3. I loved the addition of the black pepper — I’m not even sure you could tell it was black pepper, but it definitely added something. Your cake is so pretty, it looks like the glaze is the perfect consistency!

Leave a Reply

