Lime Tarragon Cookies with White Chocolate Lime Topping

IMG_2503 1This week we’re making Lime Tarragon Cookies with White Chocolate Lime Topping. This is the sort of recipe that I probably never would have made if it hadn’t popped up on the Baked Sunday Mornings schedule.  While I generally love citrus in desserts, I tend to favor lemons and oranges.   In fact I mostly save limes for tacos and cocktails.

I’m also new to tarragon, a licorice flavored herb. I knew that there was some growing somewhere in my local community garden, but I had to hunt it down. I spent a bit of time trying all of the similar looking lavenders before I narrowed in on something that tasted right.  It started off with a weird green taste, followed by the licorice that I was looking for.Cookies

The recipe is really simple, and didn’t take long to bake. From the ingredients, mainly sugar, butter, flour, and the flavorings, it seemed like it would result in something kind of like a shortbread. I was pretty close in my assessment, these are very similar, but a little more moist, and with a very rich buttery mouth feel.  The white chocolate is nice on top, adding a needed sweetness to go with the lime. The only difficult part of the recipe was arguably what should have been a breeze-melting the white chocolate.  A second too long in the microwave and it turned into a waxy rock, impossible to artfully drizzle on a cookie. I had to toss my first bowl full completely and try again. 

IMG_2507 1

I would love to make these cookies again, but probably not with lime and tarragon. I’m just not crazy about the combination. I took these to work, and I did have a couple of people who absolutely loved them, so there is definitely a market for them. The overall size and texture of the cookie was great though, and has a lot of potential.

Next up: Whiskey Peach Upside-Down Cake

Baked Sunday Mornings

7 thoughts on “Lime Tarragon Cookies with White Chocolate Lime Topping

  1. I had the same issue with the white chocolate, but on the stove– good thing I had plenty on hand for a second batch. It’s so fussy! But I think it does go really well on top of these cookies, so it was worth it. I loved these, lime/tarragon and all, but I agree that the cookie is a great base for other flavor combinations– it’s nice to have a few of those recipes in your back pocket. Nice job, Liz! 🙂

  2. I love all citrus anything and everything, and I like these cookies so much! I have found the best way to melt white chocolate is slowly and gently. Boil water, kill the heat, remove pot from stove, then place your bowl of chocolate on top to melt slowly. Give it a few minutes, then stir to smooth. 🙂

Leave a Reply

