St. Pat’s Drunk Cake

IMG_3000The St. Pat’s Drunk Cake from Baked Occasions is described as a Chocolate Stout Bundt Cake with Whiskey Bailey’s Glaze. I was pretty excited to try it!  I think dark chocolate and dark beer is a dynamite combination.  I used Innis and Gunn’s Irish Whiskey Stout, which has a molasses flavor, and tastes a lot more like whiskey than you would expect from a beer, even one with the word ‘whiskey’ in the name. I think a basic Guinness would work better, and is undoubtedly more widely available.   The cake came out well, it was very dense, rich and chocolatey without being overly sweet.  It didn’t have a pronounced stout flavor. I think the beer just blended in to enhance the chocolate. IMG_5139However I didn’t feel like the frosting fit the cake very well. Mixing cream cheese and boozy flavor was just odd. And the frosting I made wasn’t particularly attractive, too thin to spread but too creamy to pour.  I think having a simply powdered sugar glaze would have worked well, and skip the cream cheese altogether. Drizzle a bit of melted chocolate on top of that would be perfect. IMG_5142
Baked Sunday Mornings

3 thoughts on “St. Pat’s Drunk Cake

  1. Oh, I love dark, dense, heavy cakes! sorry about the frosting, it does seem like powdered sugar is a better option.

Leave a Reply

