Cheesy Bastille Day Beer Bread

This Cheesy Bastille Day Beer Bread was a big hit in our house. My local Trader Joe’s had Comté cheese, but I had no luck with a “Pyrenees Brebis cheese or other semisoft sheep’s-milk cheese.” The only sheep’s milk cheese available was a hard cheese with black olives, which wasn’t all that appealing to me.  So I went with fontina instead, which I think was very tasty. 

IMG_7181I used Mothership Wit by New Belgium, which is a very mild beer great for baking. I would love to make this bread again with different cheeses, like smoked gouda or sharp cheddar. My husband said the bread reminded him of the Cheddar Biscuits they serve at Red Lobster. The texture was very light and probably too crumbly for sandwiches, but we ate it dipped in marinara sauce with sliced pepperoni.
IMG_7192

Baked Sunday Mornings

Leave a Reply

