Chocolate Cinnamon Chipotle Cookies

img_8583

I enjoyed these Chocolate Cinnamon Chipotle Cookies. Overall, I wish they had a stronger chocolate flavor. While I thought they were tasty, they mostly just tasted like sugar, likely the frosting overpowering any flavor from the cookie itself.

I don’t have Chipotle chili powder, but I do have frozen chipotle chilis in my freezer, so I defrosted and finely chopped one of those and mixed it in with the chocolate. I think it blended well with the cinnamon, though I don’t know if anyone would notice without knowing the name of the recipe.

Rolling them out was easy, and I got to use my new favorite octopus cookie cutter. This is the first time I’ve made royal icing and used a pastry bag, the results came out fairly well, but it does take a long time to wait for the different frostings to set! If I made them again I would probably spoon the first layer on instead of trying to pipe it, I think it would have gone a lot faster. Other than that, the frosting was my favorite part of these cookies.  My husband was excited to help decorate, and I love the crunch the of the royal icing when you bite into a cookie.

img_8578

Happy halloween!

 

 

Baked Sunday Mornings

Leave a Reply

