Orange Almond Ricotta Cheesecake

These little Orange Almond Ricotta Cheesecakes were extraordinary. Amazing recipe, and quite unlike anything I’ve had before. I normally loathe cheesecake, much to my husband’s puzzlement (and probably most of America, considering the popularity of dessert at the Cheesecake Factory). Something about cream cheese used in a sweet context throws me off. But ricotta…just wow, it makes for a light and custardy cheese cake. Combined with the amaretto and orange, it is a winning combination.IMG_3011I haven’t made a crust with graham crackers in a very long time. I usually try to find something suitable to substitute, vanilla wafers or chocolate cookies coming in handy for such purposes. But I saw these Almond Thins at Trader Joes and thought they could not be more perfect. I highly recommend them just to snack on really, they are crisp, buttery and with slices of almonds studded throughout.

IMG_2729I cut my recipe in half, and made them cupcake size. I actually do make a lot of cheesecake, since it is my husband’s favorite dessert. I almost alway cut the recipe in half and make single size portions, as I never plan on eating any.  It’s really easy to do, the only essential is to use foil cupcake wrappers instead of paper, and bake for around 20 minutes.

IMG_2748

These were perfect, easy to make a delicious.

IMG_2747

 

Next up: Brown Butter SnickerdoodlesBaked Sunday Mornings

6 thoughts on “Orange Almond Ricotta Cheesecake

  1. What a great idea to make them cupcake size! They are so cute!! I’m not a huge fan of cheesecake either (don’t hate it, but don’t go out of my way for it). But I think I will need to try it with ricotta, as it sounds like it is better.

Leave a Reply

