Malted Crisp Tart

I made the Sweet Potato Tart last year and loved it, so I decided to make an alternate that I missed when the group was working their way through Baked Explorations, the Malted Crisp Tart.  I love making tarts, and this one has been on my ‘to bake’ list for awhile.

img_8718

I decided to try making mini tarts in a muffin tin a la this post by the Great Bake Company.  I was a little worried that they wouldn’t come out of the pan, but thankfully they slid right out. I’ve made caramelized rice krispies once before, for Dorie Greenspan’s Crispy Topped Brown Sugar Bars, and I think they are wonderfully versatile.  I keep meaning to make a batch and adding them to ice cream (chocolate malt crunch ice cream anyone)?

img_8706

There are a lot of steps to this recipe, but nothing terribly difficult.  The tart crust was buttery, and you layer ganache and malt vanilla pudding on top with the crunchy rice krispies. Assembling everything together was easy, and I thought the tartlets came out looking adorable.  They made a delightful two bite treat.

Baked Sunday Mornings

2 thoughts on “Malted Crisp Tart

Leave a comment